Skip to content

Number 46/05

BHP Billiton announced today that it has priced a two tranche Global Bond under its debt shelf registration statement, which has been declared effective by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

The Global Bond comprises US$600 million of 5.00% Senior Notes due 2010 and US$750 million of 5.25% Senior Notes due 2015.  The proceeds will be used to repay debt incurred to fund the recent acquisition of WMC Resources Limited and to repay commercial paper.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any jurisdiction in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such jurisdiction.  Offers and sales will only be made pursuant to a written prospectus and prospectus supplement, copies of which may be obtained from the joint book runners, Credit Suisse First Boston, Eleven Madison Avenue NY NY 10010 or J.P Morgan at 270 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10017.

Australia

Jane Belcher, Investor Relations
Tel: +61 3 9609 3952  Mobile: +61 417 031 653
email: Jane.H.Belcher@bhpbilliton.com

Tania Price, Media Relations
Tel: +61 3 9609 3815  Mobile: +61 419 152 780
email: Tania.Price@bhpbilliton.com

United Kingdom
Mark Lidiard, Investor & Media Relations
Tel: +44 20 7802 4156  Mobile: +44 7769 934 942
email: Mark.Lidiard@bhpbilliton.com

Ariane Gentil, Media Relations
Tel: +44 20 7802 4177  Mobile: +44 7881 518 715
email: Ariane.Gentil@bhpbilliton.com

United States
Tracey Whitehead, Investor & Media Relations
Tel: US +1 713 599 6100 or UK +44 20 7802 4031
Mobile: +44 7917 648 093
email: Tracey.Whitehead@bhpbilliton.com

South Africa
Alison Gilbert, Investor Relations
Tel: SA +27 11 376 2121 or UK +44 20 7802 4183
email: Alison.Gilbert@bhpbilliton.com

Subscribe to news alerts

No keyword(s) entered

Please ensure you enter a keyword and try searching again

Invalid email

Sorry, we are unable to subscribe you. Please ensure you have entered a valid email address and try again.

Subscription received

Thank you for subscribing to BHP news alerts. Please check your email for confirmation of your subscription.

Subscription confirmed

You have already signed up to our news.

Loading the player...