on site

Notice of 2023 interim dividend

On Tuesday 21 February 2023 the BHP Board determined to pay an interim dividend of 90 US cents per share (US$4.6 billion). The interim dividend will be fully franked for Australian taxation purposes.

BHP’s Dividend Reinvestment Plan (DRP) will operate in respect of the interim dividend. Full terms and conditions of the DRP and details about how to participate can be found at: bhp.com/DRP

Events in respect of the interim dividend 

Announcement of currency conversion into RAND  28 February 2023
Last day to trade cum dividend on Johannesburg Stock Exchange Limited (JSE)  7 March 2023
Ex-Dividend Date JSE 8 March 2023
Ex-dividend Date Australian Securities Exchange (ASX), London Stock Exchange (LSE) and New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) 9 March 2023 
Record Date 10 March 2023
 Announcement of currency conversion into AUD, GBP and NZD 13 March 2023
DRP and Currency Election date  13 March 2023
(5pm AEDT)
Payment Date 30 March 2023
DRP Allocation Date (ASX, LSE, JSE) 17 April 2023


Shareholders registered on the South African section of the register will not be able to dematerialise or rematerialise their shareholdings between the dates of 7 March 2023 and 10 March 2023 (inclusive), nor will transfers between the UK register and the South African register be permitted between the dates of 27 February 2023 and 13 March 2023 (inclusive). American Depositary Shares (ADSs) each represent two fully paid ordinary shares and receive dividends accordingly.

Any eligible shareholder who wishes to participate in the DRP, or to vary a participation election should do so in accordance with the timetable above, or, in the case of shareholdings on the South African branch register of BHP Group Limited, in accordance with the instructions of your CSDP or broker. The DRP Allocation Price will be calculated in each jurisdiction as an average of the price paid for all shares actually purchased to satisfy DRP elections. The Allocation Price applicable to each exchange will made available at: bhp.com/DRP

For the interim dividend:

  • the AUD Australian dollar currency conversion will be based on the average rate over a three day period commencing on 8 March 2023 and ending on 10 March 2023;
  • the GBP pound sterling currency conversion will be based on the rate on 10 March 2023;
  • the NZD New Zealand dollar currency conversion will be based on the rate on 10 March 2023; and
  • the ZAR South African rand currency conversion will be based on the rate on 27 February 2023

The following table sets out the currency exchange rates applicable for the dividend:



Shareholders on the Australian, UK and South African share registers who are receiving dividends in AUD, GBP and ZAR respectively will have their dividend amounts converted directly from USD at the relevant exchange rate stated above. Shareholders who have elected to receive their dividends in a currency different from that applicable to their share register will have their dividend amounts converted from USD into the currency of their share register first, and then into their elected currency.

For example, a shareholder on the Australian share register who elects to receive their dividend in NZD will first have their dividend amount converted from USD to AUD, and then from AUD to NZD. The NZD/USD exchange rate and NZD equivalent amount per share stated in the table above are for illustrative purposes only and may differ from the actual rate and amount applied.

The dividend will be paid on Thursday, 30 March 2023.

Summary of dividend reinvestment price

Summary of previous dividends


Dividend Reinvestment Plan

BHP Group Limited established a Dividend Reinvestment Plan (involving on-market purchase) in 2018. Subject to the terms and conditions of the Plan, shareholders are able to elect to use their cash dividend for the purchase of BHP shares. The Dividend Reinvestment Plan has recently been amended following the unification of BHP's dual listed company structure to provide former BHP Group Plc shareholders with an opportunity to  participate in the BHP Group Limited Plan. Former BHP Group Plc shareholders who wish to participate in the BHP Group Limited Plan should note that they will need to make a new election to participate in the Plan.

  1. Dividend Reinvestment Plan Rules
  2. DRP Election Form – ASX
  3. DRP Terms and Conditions – JSE
  4. DRP Election form – JSE
  5. DRP Terms and Conditions – LSE 
  6. DRP Election Form - LSE

Table component heading