Choose Maths

Recognising mathematical achievement, creativity and excellence in Australian schools

Now in their second year, the national Choose Maths Awards are part of the Choose Maths program, a partnership between the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute and the BHP Billiton Foundation to strengthen maths teaching and encourage girls to study and pursue careers in mathematics.

The Choose Maths Awards recognise teacher excellence and mentorship of girls while the student video awards recognise outstanding learning and creativity.

A total of ten teachers were recognised at today’s presentation by BHP Chief of Staff to the CEO and Head of Geoscience, Laura Tyler. This year’s Outstanding Teacher Awards went to Epping North Public School teacher, Keith Barnett (NSW - Primary) and St Aidan’s Girls’ School Mathematics Head, Patricia Hosking (QLD - Secondary). The pair each received $10,000 with half going to their school’s maths program. Seven Excellence Awards, including $1,000, were also presented.

Themed ‘maths is our future’, the 2017 Choose Maths Student Awards encouraged junior, intermediate and senior student teams to explore real-world application of maths.

Three best video prizes were presented at today’s ceremony, with Tasmania’s Montagu Bay Primary School receiving top junior honours, Queensland’s Ferny Grove State High School intermediate and St Monica’s College best senior team. As well as a grant to help with travel to Melbourne to attend the ceremony, the teams also received $2000. An additional seven school teams were presented with $1,000 Excellence Awards.

With 75 per cent of Australia’s growth employment sectors requiring mathematics, BHP Billiton Foundation Chief Executive, James Ensor, said the awards were an example of the Foundation’s support for initiatives to empower women and girls to embrace these opportunities.

“The BHP Billiton Foundation is excited to help honour outstanding successes in Australian classrooms through these awards. We congratulate the 2017 teacher and student winners for their outstanding achievements,” he said.

The Choose Maths Awards were presented today in Melbourne. For more information and to view all the winning student videos, visit