orange gradient

BHP Billiton Announces National Science Awards Winners

Number: 17/01

BHP Billiton today announced the national winners of its annual Science Awards for Students and Teachers.

Ling San Lau of Rose Bay High School in Tasmania won the Biology and Microbiology category with her project "Tadpole Truths". San also won last year's Chemistry and Biochemistry category.

Johannes van Hensbergen of Springwood High School in New South Wales won the Chemistry and Biochemistry category with his project "Combustion".

Gaurav Singh and Paul Wu of MacGregor State High School in Queensland won the Physics, Engineering and Technology category with their project "The Factors Influencing the Performance of the Hilsch Vortex Tube".

And Andrew Mcleod of North Sydney Boys' High School in New South Wales won the Environmental and Earth Science category with his project "The Effect of Organic Matter on the Toxicity of Salt to Carrots".

Each of the winners receives $1000, a commemorative plaque and a three-day trip to the BHP Billiton Science Camp near Melbourne.

BHP Billiton Chairman Don Argus said the Awards encouraged using creativity and imagination to transform ideas into something of high value.

"It is not only BHP Billiton that needs these kind of qualities. Australia's future equally depends on a strong foundation in science and the intelligence and resourcefulness which drives scientific endeavour," he said.

The BHP Billiton Science Awards are run in conjunction with the CSIRO and are widely regarded as Australia's most prestigious awards for students and teachers.

Since the first awards ceremony over 20 years ago, more than 20,000 students and teachers have submitted projects ranging from studying black holes and the health of urban waterways to identifying dustmite predators and recycling sewerage sludge.

The 2001 BHP Billiton Science Teacher Award (Primary Category) was won by Tim Hoile of the Star of the Sea School in South Australia.

The 2001 BHP Billiton Science Teacher Award (Secondary Category) was won by Helene Hiotis of Brighton Secondary College in Victoria.

Both teachers receive $5000, a commemorative plaque and a trip to the presentation day.

Willeton Senior High School in Western Australia won the 2001 BHP Billiton School of the Year Award for the second year running. The school receives $2000 and a commemorative plaque.

High-resolution pictures of all winners are available on line.


Mandy Frostick
Media Relations
Phone: 03 9609 4157
Mobile: 0419 546 245
e-mail: Mandy J Frostick

Michael Buzzard
Media Relations
Phone: 03 9609 3709
Mobile: 0417 914 103
e-mail: Michael Buzzard