BHP Billiton exchange, media & news releases

Appointment of Non-executive Director

BHP has announced the appointment of Catherine Tanna to the BHP Board as an independent Non-executive Director with effect from 4 April 2022.

Ms Tanna has more than 30 years’ experience in the resources sector. Ms Tanna was the former Managing Director of Australian energy generation and retail company EnergyAustralia from 2014 to 2021. She has also held senior managerial roles for BG Group, Shell and BHP with experience operating in Australia, Asia, Europe and Africa.

Ms Tanna was a director of the Reserve Bank of Australia from 2011 – 2021 and a director of the Business Council of Australia from 2016 – 2021. She holds a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Queensland.

BHP Chair, Mr MacKenzie said “We are delighted to announce that Catherine Tanna will join the BHP Board. Catherine has considerable experience in the resources sector and her significant expertise in safety, large-scale project management and capital discipline will be highly complementary to the skills and experiences on the Board.

Catherine also brings a global perspective, strong networks and a history of building enduring relationships with a broad range of stakeholders. We look forward to welcoming Catherine to the Board in April 2022.”

Ms Tanna’s appointment follows on from the previously announced appointment of Michelle Hinchliffe to the BHP Board from 1 March 2022