

BACKGROUND - BHP BILLITON SCIENCE AWARDS - 2002

General

The BHP Billiton Science Awards are Australia's most prestigious science awards for students and teachers.

The awards are designed to encourage and reward excellence in the teaching, study and application of science in Australian schools and TAFE colleges.

This is the 22nd year of the BHP Billiton Science Awards.

Over 180 prizes and awards aimed at fostering the development of science in schools and encouraging excellence and participation in the study of science will be awarded this year.

The BHP Billiton Science Awards are sponsored and managed by BHP Billiton. The Awards are run in conjunction with CSIRO and are proudly supported by Qantas Airways Limited and Australian Science Teachers Association.

Awards program

The BHP Billiton Science Awards comprise three separate competitions: the BHP Billiton Science Students Awards, BHP Billiton Science Teachers Awards and, the BHP Billiton School of the Year Award.

BHP Billiton Science Students Awards

Open to Australian residents who are full-time primary or secondary students (including isolated students studying at home) and to students undertaking secondary courses in TAFE colleges.

Entrants must submit a research project in one of the following four categories:

- Biology and Microbiology
- Chemistry and Biochemistry
- Physics, Engineering and Technology
- Environmental and Earth Science

Entries can be submitted by individuals or groups of up to three students. School or class groups are also welcome.

Judges assess each entry on how well it demonstrates:

- understanding of the topic chosen;
- an imaginative approach to the problem;
- · thorough scientific procedure;
- · clear presentation;
- · discovery of new facts; and
- · practical value of the topic

Sixteen finalists are chosen. Of these finalists four student winners are selected. The winners each receive \$1,000, a commemorative plaque and a trip to the BHP Billiton Science Camp. The winners' schools also receive a commemorative plaque.

The 12 remaining finalists each receive \$100, a Certificate of Excellence and are also invited to attend the BHP Billiton Science Camp.

All of the finalists are invited to attend the BHP Billiton Science Awards presentation held at BHP Billiton's Head Office in Melbourne.

Each of the 12 finalists will receive their certificates and cash prizes and the four major prize winners will be announced and awarded at the Awards presentation.

100 student entrants in the competition will receive \$50 cash encouragement awards and Certificates of Encouragement.

50 primary school aged students will also receive an encouragement prize pack and Certificate of Encouragement.

BHP Billiton Science Teacher Awards

Offered in two categories:

- primary school teachers
- secondary school teachers taking science for more than half their teaching load, including TAFE teachers taking secondary science classes

Judges look for teachers who demonstrate excellence in their work through:

- innovation and breadth of vision:
- effectiveness of the educational program;
- professional commitment; and
- application of prize money to professional development and project advancement.

Two overall winners are chosen with each receiving \$5,000, a commemorative plaque and a trip to the presentation day.

Four additional prizes of \$500 may be awarded to teachers whose work is highly commended.

10 merit prizes of \$100 will also be awarded.

BHP Billiton School of the Year Award

The BHP Billiton School of the Year Award will be presented to the school recording the highest number of prize winning entries.

The Awarded winning school will receive \$2,000 and a commemorative plaque.

Send entries to: BHP Billiton Science Awards, GPO Box 86A, Melbourne, 3001. For further information contact the BHP Billiton Science Awards Coordinator on 03 9609 3596.

Further news and information can be found on our Internet site: www.bhpbilliton.com

Contact:

Michael Buzzard, **Media Relations** Tel: 03 9609 3709 Mobile: 0417 914 103

email: Michael.Buzzard@bhpbilliton.com