

NEWS RELEASE

Release Time IMMEDIATE

Date 30 June 2015

EXECUTIVE CHANGES

BHP Billiton Chief Executive Officer, Andrew Mackenzie, today announced changes to the Group Management Committee (GMC).

Dean Dalla Valle, currently President Health, Safety, Environment (HSE), Marketing and Technology will become Chief Commercial Officer, assuming accountability for Potash.

Mr Dalla Valle's current portfolio includes Group Project Management making the Potash Project a strategic fit for his portfolio. Mr Dalla Valle will retain his existing areas of Health, Safety, Environment (HSE), Marketing, Supply and Information Technology.

At the same time, the changes will allow BHP Billiton President Petroleum, Tim Cutt, to concentrate exclusively on growing the value of the Petroleum Business. Mr Cutt's title will change to President, Petroleum. These title changes are effective 1 July 2015 and Mr Dalla Valle will assume responsibility for Potash from 1 August 2015.

"These portfolio changes recognise the depth of skill and ongoing contribution of both Dean and Tim to BHP Billiton," Mr Mackenzie said.

In addition to these portfolio and title changes, Mr Mackenzie announced two additional GMC title changes.

Athalie Williams, whose current title is President, Human Resources will take on the title of Chief People Officer and Tony Cudmore, whose current title is President, Corporate Affairs, will take on the title of Chief Public Affairs Officer. These changes will also be effective 1 July.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our GMC members for their ongoing leadership and contribution to BHP Billiton," Mr Mackenzie said.

Further information on BHP Billiton can be found at: www.bhpbilliton.com.

Media Relations

Australia

Emily Perry

Tel: +61 3 9609 2800 Mobile: +61 477 325 803

email: Emily.Perry@bhpbilliton.com

Paul Hitchins

Tel: + 61 3 9609 2592 Mobile: + 61 419 315 001

email: Paul.Hitchins@bhpbilliton.com

Eleanor Nichols

Tel: +61 3 9609 2360 Mobile: +61 407 064 748

email: Eleanor.Nichols@bhpbilliton.com

United Kingdom

Ruban Yogarajah

Tel: +44 20 7802 4033 Mobile: +44 7827 082 022

email: Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com

Jennifer White

Tel: +44 20 7802 7462 Mobile: +44 7827 253 764

email: Jennifer.White@bhpbilliton.com

Americas

Ruban Yogarajah

Tel: +44 20 7802 4033 Mobile: +44 7827 082 022

email: Ruban. Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com

BHP Billiton Limited ABN 49 004 028 077 Registered in Australia Registered Office: Level 16, 171 Collins Street Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015 **Investor Relations**

Australia

Tara Dines

Tel: +61 3 9609 2222 Mobile: +61 499 249 005

email: Tara.Dines@bhpbilliton.com

Andrew Gunn

Tel: +61 3 9609 3575 Mobile: +61 402 087 354

email: Andrew.Gunn@bhpbilliton.com

United Kingdom and South Africa

Jonathan Price

Tel: +44 20 7802 4131 Mobile: +44 7990 527 726

email: Jonathan.H.Price@bhpbilliton.com

Dean Simon

Tel: +44 20 7802 7461 Mobile: +44 7717 511 193

email: Dean.Simon@bhpbilliton.com

Americas

James Agar

Tel: +1 212 310 1421 Mobile: +1 347 882 3011

email: James.Agar@bhpbilliton.com

Joseph Suarez

Tel: +1 212 310 1422 Mobile: +1 646 400 3803

email: Joseph.Suarez@bhpbilliton.com

BHP Billiton Plc Registration number 3196209 Registered in England and Wales Registered Office: Neathouse Place London SW1V 1LH United Kingdom Tel +44 20 7802 4000 Fax +44 20 7802 4111

Members of the BHP Billiton Group which is headquartered in Australia